Priceline Hotel: San Juan Travel (12/26/06 - 1/2/07)

travelnewbie
By travelnewbie,
in

Hi all,

This is my very first time on this board and my very first time utilizing priceline and hotwire. I hope I can get some guidance as my situation is time sensitive. I need to make a trip to Puerto Rico from 12/26/06 to 1/2/07 and hotel in San Juan from 12/26 to 12/29/06. I understand the flights and hotels are super expensive during this time, I have been monitoring them and the prices just keep getting higher. Can anyone walk me through the whole bidding process and how much I should start the bids, etc? I know these bidding sites can be very tricky and I want to avoid making any financial mistakes, which I cannot afford.

Thanks a bunch :)

travelnewbie

Are you looking to book a package, bid on hotel and airfare, or just hotel? Since you're travel dates and the part of the stay for which you need a hotel are different, i don't think you'll be able to book a package.

What is your nightly hotel budget? What is the minimum star rating you'll accept? As you're only two weeks away from departure and apparently don't have plane tickets yet, is this a trip you'll definately be taking regardless of price?

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

Thanks for reponding!

I am looking to bid on airfare and hotel. My nightly hotel budget is $150 and minimum star rating is 3, preferably the Isla Verde area. Unfortunately, I have a pretty low budget for airfare (250/rt), that's why I haven't been able to book my flight as of yet and the main reason I decided to book through a bidding site 'cause I know I'll have a better chance of a lower flight and hotel through there.

Which would be better to bid through - Priceline or Hotwire?

I can't afford the prices that are currently being quoted
This is precisely my point... if the prices DON'T come down, and you can't afford it, will you still make the trip?