Priceline Hotel: 4* Detroit (Dearborn) Hyatt Regency

osprey6
By osprey6,
in

OK, I'm not a complete newbie, I've actually had a lot of experience at "that other priceline board"(and been bawled out more than once for a minor rules violation) , and I've had some great wins, especially in the DC (Virigina suburbs) area, although nothing within the last year due to the birth of our daughter.

Here's the scoop - I'm looking for 4* only in Dearborn for one night beginning September 9. It's my wife's birthday weekend and I want to give her the best. We are going to the Lions-Seahawks game on Sunday.

I see I have free rebids in both Taylor and Downtown at that star level.

Southfield would be acceptable as a last resort, but DTW Airport is not, due to distance and parking. I believe that represents all available zones.

My max bid is $75. At anything above that, it's not worth it. We found a $98 rate at the Embassy Suites in Novi and I'm at 10k points with HHonors. Plus, of course, that one would come with breakfast.

The posted winners seem to have varied somewhat in price, and I don't believe any were for a weekend.

My initial plan was to try:

Dearborn: 50

add Downtown: 57

add Taylor: 66

add Southfield: 75

Any criticisms or suggestions would be most welcome.

The above strategy leaves you vulnerable to overbidding for the Deaborn zone.

This is a better approach (imo):

Select 4* Dearborn...

Bid $50, if rejected add re-bid zone1...

Bid $55, if rejected close browser and re-access priceline however you did previously.

Select 4* Dearborn and re-bid zone2...

Bid $60, if rejected add re-bid zone1...

Bid $65.

If the above is rejected i would then try this 24 hours later:

Select 4* Dearborn...

Bid $55, if rejected add re-bid zone1...

Bid $65, if rejected close browser and re-access priceline however you did previously.

Select 4* Dearborn and re-bid zone2...

Bid $70, if rejected add re-bid zone1...