Priceline Hotel: 3* Newark (Jersey City)

S-Express
By S-Express,
in

Hi,

I'm new to priceline, and would be extremely grateful if I could ask for some assistance with a bidding strategy. I will of course bid via the savingsbarn link.

-Background-

I have flights booked from the UK to JFK for me, my wife and her parents. We arrive the evening of 30/11 and departing on 12/07. We will require two rooms, and after being shocked at the prices in Manhattan I have decided to look further afield. From my reading both the Hyatt and Doubletree in Jersey City appear to offer much better value for money. The tripadvisor reviews look decent for both hotels, although the Hyatt looks to have the edge.

-Price research-

I have looked on Expedia, Hotwire and the hotels own websites and have collated the following information, I hope this displays okay:-

Date Hyatt Hotwire Doubletree

30/11/06 $405 $380 $229

1/12/06 $239 $225 $229

2/12/06 $239 $225 $229

3/12/06 $305 $288 $229

4/12/06 $305 $288 $229

5/12/06 $305 $288 $229

6/12/06 $305 $288 $229

As you can see Thursday 30th is especially expensive at the Hyatt, which would suggest to me splitting the bid may be a sensible approach? I wouldn't be overly worried about moving hotels once during the trip. But would prefer to stay at the Hyatt throughout if possible.

Any advice is graciously received.

With thanks

Martin.

Hi,

Thanks for the welcome. No backup yet, I guess I should really get one in place. In terms of budget under $200/night would be great, but I'm not sure what's achievable at this time of year? Given that I'm with my in-laws I'd be willing to go slightly higher for a superior hotel/location.

I had been considering Eastgate Towers which was the cheapest reasonable Manhattan property I could find at $230/night. But they take a 10% cancellation fee, so thought I would checkout the priceline options first.