Hotwire Hotel: Help: Embassy Suites in Downtown Ft. Lauderdale

Sheri
By Sheri,
in

:) Help! I'm new to Hotwire. I've checked rates for Embassy Suites in Ft. Lauderdale. Rates range from 190-330 for Jan. 03 - Mar. 03, but for my date in Apr. 04 ES is not even listed. Does this mean that it's sold out, or maybe that I'm too early? Thanks for your help.

Well the Embassy Suites website, the best source for availabilty, shows the hotel sold-out for that nite :)

As well, Orbitz shows it not available, but using the Expedia link above shows availabilty at $246/nite (i don't know their cancellation policy). Quickbook.com shows this hotel for $172/nite, but their rate comes with cancellation fees.

Inventory may open up as your date draws near (if rooms are being held for a convention or the like), but as of now i'd start to think of alternative plans. You may also want to begin researching exactly what event is happening in town that weekend (a call to the ES may give you the quickest answer, but the desk clerk may not know, but while you're on the phone with the hotel confirm that the hotel is indeed sold-out).

If this is the hotel you want to stay at (at any price) i'd reserve it thru QuickBook if their cancellation fee is palatable to you. If not, i'd definately reserve a cancellable back-up in the meantime, continue to monitor rates, and try to find out what, if anything, is happening in town that nite/weekend.

If you find a big event/convention, let us know and we may be able to advise further. If board member WDR sees this he may know, as he has an uncanny ability to track these things down :)

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

:)