Priceline Hotel: San Juan bidding help 11/4/06

lg662
By lg662,
in

Hi, I'm new to this, but I have thoroughly read and understand (i think!) the priceline strategy. Here is where I am with bidding. I am trying for the Caribe Hilton on 11/04/06 precruise. I saw several people on this and "the other" site were able to get it for $65 that month. After checking availability (open), I tried the following strategy:

1. $65 bid for Resort in zone - San Juan

2. Rejected

3. added free rebid zone (Mayaguez) Resort $68.00

4. rejected

I then waited the 24 hours and tried this strategy again. I believe I went up to $70. Should I just keep trying this same strategy daily (after checking zones for any changes)? This is maybe where I am a little confused. Is there another strategy I should be using? I wouldn't mind paying a little more, but since several people were able to get that rate (one even for that exact date), it doesn't seem logical to pay a great deal higher than that....right?

I'm not opposed to the other two hotels in that category, but thought this one was the best fit for us.

Thanks in advance!

We hadn't seen this hotel appear for quite some time, then in a flurry it started coming up again... real cheap. From your comments it may no longer currently be offered, for your dates, as hotel direct rates for your dates are similar to when the others won this hotel at $65. Plenty of time between now and your stay, so i would be patient although if you are trying to get something you may want ot raise your maximum bid up to $75.

You would bid $65 and then use your re-bid zone at $75. I would also NOT bid this more than once a week or so right now as you'll drive yourself crazy... but do keep an eye on the board to see if this hotel starts to appear and won once again.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases