Priceline Hotel: Express deals - guest ratings

Arthien
By Arthien,
in

Hi, I'm new to all this and hoping someone here can help.

I searched on Priceline for 5* hotels in Venice (Italy), and narrowed the zone down to Venice itself, which showed only 12 hotels available for the dates I had chosen.

I noticed on the 'Express deals' list that there was a 5* hotel deal showing, which had a guest rating of 9/10.

As the list of 12 5* hotels only contained 1 with a 9/10 guest rating, is it safe to assume that this the same hotel as on the 'express deals' list?

Also, are the express deals any good, as a general rule? Priceline shows the 5* deal as being 50% off, but it is likely I'd get a better deal by bidding instead?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Welcome to Betterbidding. :)

The guest rating is the number and above. If you are seeing only one hotel that fits all of the amenities, star rating and guest rating in the zone, then it is likely that property.

You could likely get a cheaper rate via bidding but you would have to be willing to accept any of the hotels in the zone at that star rating.

HOTWIRE: most expensive, but you are given the most details and it's possible to make an educated guess as to which hotel(s) the listing could be.

PRICELINE Express: usually cheaper than HOTWIRE and it is possible to make a guess, but the amenities that PRICELINE Express usually offers are usually "common" - it's not unusual that a listing could still be 3-4 different possibilities.

PRICELINE bidding: cheapest, but you have to be willing to accept any hotel given the specifics (zone, star rating) chosen.

Thank you for using the board's HOTWIRE or PRICELINE links to start your purchases and searches.