Priceline Hotel: Bidding Strategy for Newark Area Hotels

flanhelsinki
By flanhelsinki,
in

Hello,

Bidding newbie here. I have thoroughly studied the material on this site when it comes to the name-your-own-price tool. We fly in next week (Aug. 20) and need a place to stay at for a few days that is close to PATH. We will not have a car. I noticed that some 3 1/2 star hotels in Newark (Robert Treat Best Western, Hilton Penn Station) are rather close to Penn Station, as well as a 2 1/2 star hotel in Harrison (Hampton Inn). I started low with the 3 1/2's, at $100 but was rejected. So I guess my questions are these: 1)Is anyone familiar with other 3 1/2 stars in the "Newark" area? Are those two it? And how much would you bid on them? 2) My wife and I both have lived in tough neighborhoods, and we expect to be coming home rather late at night (After midnight) from NYC via PATH. If we stay at any of the above mentioned hotels (all have shuttle services/walking proximity), is it a good idea to be walking around those areas at that time? Any further advice would be helpful, as I'm still trying to get the hang of it and this trip is coming up. Thanks!

Daniel

Welcome to BetterBidding!

I would not recommend walking around these areas at nite.

What are the complete dates of your stay? What is your maximum (per nite before fees/taxes) for this trip? Is this your only stay in the area or after a few days in this are (assuming you ultimately decide to stay here none-the-less) or is this is for your NYC-metro stay and then you'll be heading home or to another city?

Please use the PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links on the board to begin your travel purchases.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases