Priceline Hotel: Newbie here, need help booking in Bloomington MN

hinessa
By hinessa,
in

Hello all! I've read through everything, I'm a newbie, and I'm still confused. Please help me! I'm really wanting to stay at Residence Inn by Marriott – Minneapolis Bloomington 7850 Bloomington Avenue. I've checked the list and it's a three star hotel. So,what's my process. I'm going in September from the 19th to the 22nd. I can get a special rate with my group for $99. But someone in the group (large group, I don't know them) booked it for $50. So, what's my first step? Can I determine through process of elimination that I get that hotel? Thanks so much!

Welcome to BetterBidding!

Please start by reading your messages.

You can't bid on a specific hotel when using PRICELINE, you have to be able to accept any hotel in the zone at the star level (or higher) that you choose. With HOTWIRE you can often take an educated guess as to what is being offered based upon the amenities associated with the property, but it's still a 'best guess' and no guarantees you will receive the hotel you're hoping for. As well, HOTWIRE only shows one hotel at each star level per zone, so there is a chance the hotel you're hoping for isn't the one which is offered for your particular dates.

So if the Residence Inn is the only hotel you're willing to accept, then i'd suggest you book direct or thru a service where you know the name of the hotel beforehand... if you're willing to accept a different hotel for half the price (or whatever amount of a discount you think would be worthwhile to stay in a different nearby hotel) then you could proceed with PRICELINE or HOTWIRE.

Let us know your thoughts and we'll take it from there.

Please use the PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links on the board to begin your travel purchases.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases