Priceline Hotel: 4.5 New York Palace Help

David_M
By David_M,
in

Hey,

This is my first time using Priceline and I am looking to book a 4.5* hotel in NYC for nights from Aug 21st to Aug 23rd. I am particularly interested in the New York Palace hotel. The price per night listed on Tripadvisor is $344. What price range should I be bidding at? I have checked the listed hotels for priceline and found that in the midtown east area there are four 4.5* hotels and the NY Palace is among them. Does this mean that if I choose this area and select 4.5* hotel, I would have a one in four chance of getting NY Palace?

Thanks

Welcome to BetterBidding!

You can't bid on, or target, a specific hotel when using PRICELINE, you have to be able to accept any hotel in the zone at the star level (or higher) that you choose. With HOTWIRE you can often take an educated guess as to what is being offered based upon the amenities associated with the property, but it's still a 'best guess' and no guarantees you will receive the hotel you're hoping for. As well, HOTWIRE only shows one hotel at each star level per zone, so there is a chance the hotel you're hoping for isn't the one which is offered for your particular dates.

Also, the 'retail' and 'bidding' side of PRICELINE each use ra different universe of hotels, and while there is a lot of overlap, some hotels you see on the retail side may not participate in the bidding sice, and vice-versa, so you can't use the retail listings as a finite set of your possibilities... there could always be others.

Let us know your thoughts and how you'd like to proceed. If you want to move forward bidding on PRICELINE, what would be your maximum bid for any 4.5* hotel in the MTE zone? Is this the only zone that is acceptable to you?

Please use the PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links on the board to begin your travel purchases.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases