Priceline Hotel: First Time Bidder Planning Vacation

strawny
By strawny,
in

I have been researching how to bid for travel for a couple of months now. I'm still a little nervous about the process and was looking for a little advice on when and how to start bidding. Our trip is about 8 weeks out and I didn't know if I should start bidding now, that way I can start extremely low or wait a couple more weeks? Below are our trip plans, what zones I am looking at, and roughly our price range. Also are my price expectations in those areas ok or are they a little low?

July 28th Columbus OH

Dublin or West Zone 3*

$40

July 29th-Aug 1st Sandusky OH

Huron or Milan/Norwalk 3* (willing to go to 2.5*)

$45-$50

Aug 1st St. Louis MO

Forest Park or Chesterfield 3.5* (willing to go to 2.5*) would also consider Downtown if needed.

$45-50

Thanks for any help.

Welcome to BetterBidding!

Please post only one stay per thread, we will use this topic for your first stay in Columbus on July 28th, feel free to start NEW TOPICS for each of the other legs of your trip.

As far as when to bid there is no correct answer, but the general advise is to bid once your plans are firm while making sure you don't overbid early on. For more information on this subject see the related 'Bid Early or Close to Check-in' link in our priceline.faq.

More specifically for your first stay i think something in the $50-$60 would be a more realistic expectation, but as you point out you can start low and work your way higher. Using MAPS and HOTELS.com what is the best rate you're able to find at an acceptable 3* hotel in one of these zones for this nite?

Please use the PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links on the board to begin your travel purchases.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

• 1 month later...