Priceline Hotel: 4* Montreal Hilton Bonaventure

starbuck1105
By starbuck1105,
in

Hello everyone,

First, I just discovered this board, and would like to say what a great resource it is!

Secondly, let me state up front that I am a newbie. I just reviewed the FAQs, newbie thread and the Montreal hotel list, so hopefully what I'm asking isn't TOO redundant. Anyway, I need some advice.

I'm going to be visiting Montreal in about two weeks. I had previously booked a room at the W Hotel - a place I've always wanted to stay at - for $200 US on Wednesday and Thursday night, and $250 US on Saturday night. That does not include taxes and parking.

Even though I've always wanted to stay at the W, I am starting to feel a little bit of sticker shock. I figure that once you add up the numbers, my three day hotel stay will run about $800.

That said, I was monkeying around on Hotwire today and saw that they have a rate of $139 per night for three nights for a 4.5 star hotel. That would allow me to save about $300 for the stay, after taxes and parking. They also have a 4 star hotel for $104 per night, which would allow me to save even more.

I guess my concern is that, if I book the 4.5 star hotel, I could end up at one of two hotels --- either the InterContinental Montreal, or the Lowe's Hotel Vogue. I guess I wouldn't think twice about this, except that another poster mentioned that he got the InterContinental and was unhappy with it. Are these both good hotels? Are they on par with the W in terms of quality?

I guess that, at this point, I'm just looking for some advice. Should I take my chances with the 4.5 star hotels, keep the reservation at the W, or go with the 4 star hotel in Montreal (which, it seems like will probably be the Sheraton, based on many of the recent posts).