buying airline tickets via priceline.com

yoyo6713
By yoyo6713,
in

I am a complete newbie to priceline.com and just tried to buy 4 airline tickets to Tahiti. I have all the dates fixed so I am trying to purchase the tickets directly instead of bidding for them. To my surprise it didn't give me any tickets and according to their automated phone message "no airline was willing to release the tickets at that price." what does that mean? I was not bidding for tickets but purchasing them directly. That was yesterday and I figured it might be a system glitch so I tried it again today and was rejected again with the same reason. Anyone purchased tickets from priceline.com directly? Are the prices they are showing shill prices? Make the matter worse, two failed purchase caused 2X $5K pre-authorization on my credit card so now I cannot buy these tickets from Expedia.com (due to 10K pre-auth). Oh and no one at priceline.com is picking up the phone when I called yesterday and today. Can someone here tell me for sure I won't be stuck with 8 tickets to Tahiti and how to have priceline release these ridiculous pre-authorizations?

Thanks.

Welcome to BetterBidding!

Please start by reading your messages and clicking each of these PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links... then reply to this thread and we'll have a look and comment on your post above.

Please use the PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links on the board to begin your travel purchases.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

Really sorry about your predicament... hope you are able to get things sorted out.

I just wanted you to know that I called Priceline yesterday at 1-800-818-0034 and got someone almost immediately. That number was given to me by the hotel I had booked.

JB

JB,

Thanks for the number I called it but mine was airline ticket purchase.