Priceline Hotel: 4* DC (White House - Downtown) JW Marriott

Remyko
By Remyko,
in

Hello,

This is my first time using Priceline. Looking for 3* in Downtown-Whitehouse area 7/13-7/16. Don't really want another zone, but could live with Convention Ctr-Capitol Hill area. Hotel prices range from $119/night to $179/night in Downtown-Whitehouse area for those dates.

I have already bid $55, $60, $65 and all got rejected with the only zone being Downtown-Whitehouse. Any suggestions? My first three bids were prior to the "month away" mark. Once the trip is less than a month away, are lower bids more likely to be accepted?

Also, any experience with that optional $5/day trip insurance?

Many thanks,

Remy

Two quick thoughts...

1) You have one free rebid for a 3* bid. You could use this to up your bid without the risk of ending up in an area other than the preferred Downtown area.

2) I happen to believe trip insurance is a poor investment but everyone's different. In my mind, insurance protects you from MAJOR losses...if my horse farm is destroyed that's a MAJOR loss; if I miss my hotel stay that's a $100 problem...I can survive that (or else I probably shouldn't be going on vacation).

In my years of using Priceline and being on these boards, I've never seen a correlation between bidding early (or late) and having bidding success. I doubt the purchase of trip insurance would impact your success as well.

Good Luck,

AdGuy :)

Rates i'm seeing seem high for these dates... at which hotels are you finding rates from $119-$179?

My own take on insurance: