Kona Car Rental Help

shernuf
By shernuf,
in

Can anyone give me some advice on renting a car on the Big Island of Hawaii?

I'm trying to find a cheap car rental ($12-$15/day) for the above dates.

Is it better to bid PL or use hotwire.

I've been bidding PL without any success so far.

Hotwire is showing about $20.95/day with a total for the week at $202.11 for a compact

I could use the $30 Entertainment rebate to lower it down to $172.11

Is it better to wait on hotwire? I've noticed that if I went in the next few days that it gets down to $12.95 - $ 14.95/day

The car rental checker runs in the $240 range for the big 3 and sidestep hasn't done much better either.

I guess my question really comes down to should I wait? Is this as good as it's going to get or can expect the prices to drop. :)

Ideally, I would love a convertible (who wouldn't in Hawaii), but all I need is an economy or compact.

Any help from previous experience would be great.

I'm not a novice. I've PL a couple of hotels in Newport Beach and Springfield, MO and I've gotten a car rental for a week in Daytona Beach.

However, not a lot is posted about renting cars here and not enough about successful bidding in Hawaii.

Thanks.

Car Rental Checker is showing the $240 range.

Not much better.

I'm going to keep checking hotwire and PL and hope a cheap bid gets accepted.

Thanks.

Yesterday, the hotwire price dropped to $19.95 on June 14 in the morning.

Today, the hotwire price was back up to $20.95 for a compact car during 7/30 - 8/6 for Kona, HI.

Is this normal?

I didn't bother booking yet because overall its only $7 difference down to $195. :)

I'm still PL bidding, but no success yet.

Does anyone know:

A. If I get a successful low bid of say $15 for a compact car on priceline, can I upgrade that car to a better car when I get it?

B. Is it really expensive? Does it follow the same guidelines that their website has like upgrade this car for $5 more per day?