Priceline Hotel: 4* Newark (Jersey City) Westin

dodo77
By dodo77,
in

Hi. I am new to PRICELINE/HOTWIRE and 2 of us are visiting NY for the first time, from Singapore. Would appreciate help on getting a hotel in New York for 30 Sep to 4 Oct. We do not mind small rooms as rooms in U.S. are large by our standard. Budget of $100-150 a day doable? Anywhere within walking distance of subway, can get to Manhattan within half an hour, safe, clean and not too dated hotel would be nice.

A hotel in Manhattan within your budget may be a bit tough... i'm guessing the closest you'd come would be a 3* hotel for ~$180 or so.

If you're trying to stay within budget i think your best option would be the Hoboken-Jersey City zone where HOTWIRE has what appears to be the 4* rated Westin for $148/nite. This hotel is close to the PATH train which will take you to Manhattan in ~15 minutes and runs 24/7. You do lose a bit of the 'feel' of NYC by staying in NJ, but this would be a good choice and a relatively easy commute into Manhattan.

You can either go for this or try bidding this equivalent zone via PRICELINE to try and save a few dollars (but the would be subject to any 4* hotel in the zone and not necessarily being able to target the Westin).

Let us know your thoughts and how you'd like to proceed and we'll advise accordingly.

Please use the PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links on the board to begin your travel purchases.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

• 2 weeks later...

My travel dates in NY is now 29 Sep to 4 Oct 2011. I tried bidding number of times unsuccessfully, including $105 for a 3* in Long Island City. I am considering Howard Johnson Inn or Verve Hotel in Long Island City. The retail price range from 129 to 170. Would appreciate advice on what's the lowest price I can go for this? And I guess I have to go for 2* or 2.5* in that area? Thanks.