Priceline Hotel: Have Been Bidding unsuccessfully for a couple of weeks

WorldAndUSATraveler
By WorldAndUSATraveler,
in

Last summer I sucessfully bid on a 4* hotel in the Denver Downtown area, about 7/30 - 8/2 or so. We had to cancel the trip. I have been rebidding now for Aug. 15-19...and have not been successful. I receive the Priceline e-mails re bids that have been accepted, etc. I am now way beyond some of those prices (dates unknown) but still no room. I probably have placed 8-10 bids by now.... My last bid was at $76 or $79. Is it just that this is a busy week? I know there are rooms available, as I checked several of the hotels' websites.

This is my first time on this message board. I read the newbie info but am not sure if I am doing this all correctly. If I am not, my apologies.

Thank you.

Welcome to BetterBidding!

I think you're close, but it may take up to another $10-$15 for you to be successful for these dates... what is your maximum bid before you consider lowering your star rating to 3.5*?

Please use the PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links on the board to begin your travel purchases. (and please click this PRICELINE link before replying)

Thanks.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

Thank you for your response. We will go up to about $100, I guess. I would prefer to pay a lot less and do 3.5 or 3, but I am planning to be without a car for several days and want the convenience of the 4* hotels. Some of the 3.5/3* are further out and would require more time to get places and/or cabs.... Frustrating! I really thought this would work out differently! :) My $83 bid was rejected today....

Thanks again. (Why are those dates more expensive?)

Rates aren't that high for these dates, but they're not at the rock-bottom rates when we typically see bids in the $50's and $60's win... we've certainly seen rates much higher then they are currently.