Atlanta>Boston airfare help

Rwhitting10
By Rwhitting10,
in

Welcome to BetterBidding!

Is this for June 18-23?

What is the best rate you're able to find thru conventional booking channels for this route? (and what is the breakdown of base fare + fees/taxes)

Please use the PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links on the board to begin your travel purchases.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

Yes, June 18-23 2011 and the best deals I was able to find was 166 w/o taxes so 206 or something like that with taxes fees etc. Included. I am new to the whole bidding process and have just started traveling 2 to 3 times a month compared to never and the sooner I figure out bidding the better I'll be.

In the current rate environment, the deals on airfare have not been that great and deals have been somewhat far and few between, but they do happen from time to time...

Based upon the rates above, how much of a discount would you need to make an opaque purchase worthwhile (given that you can't choose arrival/departure times, agree to up to at least one connection, no decision regarding layover airport, etc)

Please use the PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links on the board to begin your travel purchases.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

I would purchase a ticket for around 250 round trip.....I have found flights for 206 with tax like I said but they are out of Charlotte and I don't really fancy driving 2 hours to Charlotte but if it saves me 150 bucks it's worthwhile to do so. I might even be looking to bid for flights for Charlotte to bawston!

matrix.itasoftware.com is particularly handy for checking airfares.

However, I played with it for a while for your situation and sympathize. I tried nearby cities and alternate dates and never was able to find a fare under $432, except for the Charlotte, NC $207 ($233 non-stop) deal.