Priceline Hotel: 2.5* Los Angeles (Burbank-Universal City-Glendale) Best Western E.R.

Roythe13th
By Roythe13th,
in

So for the last couple of weeks, I've been trying to get a winning bid on PRICELINE for the central LA area. I've been using Priceline for hotels for about 5 years now and my track record has been great on getting a good deal for a hotel in various major cities across the country (including good deals in LA before). Usually a 3* with about 50%-65% off the going rack rate. I've always supported Pric.eline because it has made it possible for me to travel much more than I ever thought I could.

Recently I was given an Entertainment Book with the PRICELINE 10 dollars off coupon. I was pretty excited because I was planning for my upcoming LA trip and thought I could get an even better deal than normal. I will be in LA area almost 2 weeks but wanted to use the discount for my 10/5 - 10/10/2010 leg of my trip. I was bidding up to $80 ($70 plus the $10 ent. rate coupon) and being denied a win for a 3* and up hotel in Santa Monica, Beverly Hills/W Hollywood, Brentwood/Westwood & Hollywood almost everyday for most of September. Since I was going to be spending a lot of time in Burbank/Griffith Park area/Universal City, I started bidding on hotels in this area this week thinking I would get the Glendale Hilton for that rate. No dice. Dropped down to a 3* in the area and bid $65 + $10 ent. rate and no win. I couldn't believe it! So in a regrettable move of desperation, I dropped to 2.5* and only dropped down to $62 (plus $10 coupon) and won the Best Western Eagle Rock Inn for the winning bid of $72.

So winning bid of $72 but paying $62. $62.00 x 5 = $310.00 plus $57.00 taxes = $367.00 total paid. The rack rate for this property is $97 for this stay and sites like hotel.com and even PRICELINE itself offer the property for $83. Not exactly an amazing deal but I will admit I should have started lower at this star rating.