Priceline Hotel: 2.5* DC (Alexandria-Old Town) Hawthorne Suites

EXIT17
By EXIT17,
in

This is my first time using this site but I have been following it for about a month now.

I need some help finding a room in a good area of Washington DC.

I have been trying priceline for about a month and half and have bid up to $120 for a rooms in the Arlington, Crystal City, Dupont Circle and have not been sucessful.

Was I too early to start this? Are most of these last minute deals? Or maybe its just a busy week. I keep seeing post of travelers getting rooms for way under $100. Is there something I am doing wrong?

I would love some suggestions.

I would go to a 2.5* hotel if I new it would be close to the metro.

Splitting the bid is not an option.

I would love some suggestions.

Thanks for the help.

You'll be in town during college graduations. Spring is also generally quite busy with, among other things, scores of school groups in town for their Spring tour of Washington. And on top of that you're asking for a 6 night stay! :)

I wouldn't hesitate to bid 2.5 in all the zones you've mentioned. One of three Courtyard by Marriotts could come up (one in each zone), or a Hilton Garden Inn (Arlington).

I'd also consider Alexandria/Mt. Vernon. There are 3 3*'s and 2 2.5*'s that have come up there, the best of the lot being a Residence Inn that's within a 5 minute walk of the Metro station. The others are not within walking distance, but they all have shuttles, which may very well be a reasonable compromise if nothing better pans out.

Good luck.

I was hoping someone might be able to identify a 2.5* hotel listed in

Alexadria -old town

Selected amenities include: Suite, Complimentary Breakfast, Pool(s), Kitchenette

Has anybody seen this one before? It's coming up at $100 per night on Hotwire.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

I am looking for 6 nights