Priceline Hotel: Bidding help please for March 11-13

flyerduck
By flyerduck,
in

I am a PL rookie, trying to get a room for the nts of March 11 & 12. Would like to be within a half mile of either the Dupont Circle or Adams Morgan neighborhood. Thus I have been bidding the Dupont Circle Zone on PL.

So far, using free re-bids etc. i have had the following bids rejected

$60 4*

$65 3*

$70 4*

$75 4*

$80 3*

My back up reservation is in Georgetown for $159, as I haven't found any decent rates in Dupont Circle (not much availability: Hilton Washington and Hilton Embassy Row are good locations for me but are both full).

Any suggestions from the experts on how to proceed?

Thanks!

The Marriott Wardman Park, within walking distance of Adams Morgan and about a mile from Dupont Circle, and just one stop away on the Metro, is showing $179. At that rate I think your $80 bid at 3* should have worked had there been availability. You could keep trying. The Omni, a short walk from the Marriott, is $299 - will probably take at least $110 if there

Thanks to both Travelguy and thereuare for the helpful info.

I will defnitely be staying in DC on those nights, my plane ticket is already paid for! If I dont get anything on PL, I will go with the backup (or anything better that turns up).

thereuare-I have read a lot of good things about the Omni, but have never stayed there. Its 0.7 miles from my favorite bar in Adams Morgan, which is reasonable (though almost 2 miles to Dupont Circle). Anyway, I think it would be fine for this trip.

Using MapQuest, I got 1.42 miles from the Omni to Dupont Circle (the actual circle as opposed the general area), and 0.86 to the Washington Hilton, about where the neighborhood begins coming from uptown. 0.67 miles to Madam's Organ in Adams Morgan :)

Hotwire is showing a 3* in Dupont Circle/Embassy Row for $90. If you're a new Hotwire customer, you could use the discount code for another $10 per night off.