CA San Diego Staybridge Suites Downtown

windwalker
By windwalker,
in

Well looks like I'm the first to win a bid at this property

So how's about a brief review.

I bid- I won- I stayed

Ok, a bit more than that.

Yes the property is downtown, but it is on the FAAAARRR side of Downtown San Diego. The location is over by City College, just on the edge of Bolboa Park. The location offers convenient access to HWY 163. The neighborhood looks a bit "ify" but not too bad. Although I haven't done much walking as of yet. The location puts it about a mile from the Gas Lamp district.

The Hotel is a bit over one year old and is still in very nice shape. It's a former apartment building known as the Rivera. It's a 6 story square building painted in pleasant earth tones. This is my first time at a Staybridge so I cannot compare it to others. First impressions are very nice. Fireplace in the inviting lobby area. Everything is done in classic Deco styling with lots of interesting wood inlays. Check in was uneventful. Presented my Platinum Ambassador Card, was asked what type of room was needed-in my case smoking, filed out the proper papers and was on my way. No bellman but several carts are available for use.

Made my way up the slightly cramped elevator and located my room. Opened the door and the lights automatically came on. Room is very pleasant. And compared to some I've stayed in(320 nights\year) is really quite spacious-Approx 15X15 with a 5x5 kitchen area and about that for the bath. Toilet and shower are together with separate sink area. Closet is bigger than mine at home(from what I recall) Wire shelving with 3 actual shelves in the closet. Closet door feel off track but have become so used to that won't give demerits for it.