bidding on rental car for Las Vegas

techman41973
By techman41973,
in

Hello, I'm new to bidding on rental cars. I'd like to try bidding on a rental car in Las Vegas for a trip in January.

I have some questions and assumptions I'd like some feedback on.

1. From what I understand Priceline is now the only site where you can bid on rental cars.

2. I a member Budget Fastbreak, Hertz Gold Plus Rewards which allows me to skip the rental counter and paperwork.
If I bid on a rental car and get assigned a car from either of these companies, can I still skip the counter and paperwork or
does bidding not allow me to access these conveninces that I get when I make a reservation on their website.

3. I understand that I should first use your price finder http://www.betterbidding.com/cartool/
to find the current market price of the vehicle I want to rent.
How much less than the current market price should I bid ?

4. From what I've read I should focus on bidding on smaller cars since rental car lots have plenty of these models.
Can I successfully bid on a standard or midsize? Or stick with compact, subcompact and intermediate?

5. Is it true that once I win my bid I can't change or cancel the reservation (Piceline)?

6. Is it true that I can only bid once every 24-hours?

7. I only want to bid for a car that I pick up at the airport, not a nearby local branch. Can I limit my bidding to an airport rental center?

8. Any other tips would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to BetterBidding!

Please start by reading your messages.

1. From what I understand Priceline is now the only site where you can bid on rental cars.

Yes.

2. I a member Budget Fastbreak, Hertz Gold Plus Rewards which allows me to skip the rental counter and paperwork.

If I bid on a rental car and get assigned a car from either of these companies, can I still skip the counter and paperwork or

does bidding not allow me to access these conveninces that I get when I make a reservation on their website.