Help - Bidding LGB

dablackguy
By dablackguy,
in

First of all i want to say if this is in the wrong area, moderators please move this to the correct thread.

Ive used the PRICELINE link in past when bidding on here. Usually i get rock bottom rates because i only need a hotel to sleep a few ours each day. Its my first time attempting to bid for a car rental and I'm struggling to figure out what my ideal price should be.

Im Looking to book a car rental from LGB (Long beach Airport) in March 2017, but i dont understand how to how a daily bid price of $17 brings the taxes and fees to $79.55. Whats the tax % for car rentals?

Rental car taxes are usually very high as they are used to subsidize airport improvements.  Since most residents (who vote) in the area seldom, if ever, rent a car from their local airport, it's very easy for legislatures to propose an increase in tax on any rental cars at the airport to improve the airport itself (roads, runways, terminals, etc).

What are the actual dates of your rental and what vehicle class are you looking for?

Please remember to return to BetterBidding and use the PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links on the board to begin your travel purchases... or thru our sister site MAPSandHOTELS.com for your regular rate purchases.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

Just to provide an example, this is what i'm seeing at one of the major car rental sites for your dates (the rate is irrelevant to my point, this example is to see just how many different fees/taxes there are):

Compact 2 or 4 dr.

Rate Details 1 week at 281.47 USD

Fees

Airport concession fee recovery 32.06 USD

Vehicle license fee recovery 7.14 USD

Customer Facility Charge 10.00 USD

California Tourism Commission Assessment 9.85 USD

Taxes 28.86 USD

Amount to be paid at time of rent 369.38 USD