Priceline Hotel: 2.5* Chicago (Chicago Loop - Millennium Park) Congress Plaza Hotel

Iowa257
By Iowa257,
in

This is my first time trying to bid on PRICELINE. I've been bidding for weeks on downtown Chicago hotels (preferably in the Chicago Loop zone, but really open to anything downtown). I'm open to anything 2.5 stars or higher and I've bid up to $165 and have had no luck. Is the area just that expensive? Am I looking too far in advance? Any advice would be greatly appreciated! 

Welcome to BetterBidding!

There is a 25K person conference taking place 10/15-10/18, and with many attendees arriving the nite before the conference starts, i assume this is (at least part of) the high rates you're seeing for these specific dates.

Are your dates flexible?  Have you thus far only bid for the Loop zone?  What others zones are acceptable?

Please remember to return to BetterBidding and use the PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links on the board to begin your travel purchases... or thru our sister site MAPSandHOTELS.com for your regular rate purchases.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases

Are you driving in or flying in? Downtown, you're probably looking at around $170-185 for a 3* (depending on zone) and probably $200-215 for a 4*. The North Suburbs (Northbrook-Glenview-Deerfield) are probably going to be $60-70 for a 3.5* (tiny bit higher for a 4*; there's a 3* on HOTWIRE for $49), but the trade off is about a 40-45 minute train ride (although the Metra trains are quite nice) each way. The suburbs also don't really work if you're not driving; it's not far from most hotels to a train station, but it's not walkable.

I'm very familiar with the area - let me know more about what you are looking for (such as desired max budget) and I'd be happy to research and offer suggestions.