Priceline Hotel: 3.5* San Diego (La Jolla) San Diego Marriott La Jolla

BargainMamma
By BargainMamma,
in

First time bidding. Such a newb!

My emphatic apologies for not using link here. I promise to do this in the future!!

I started my bid on Priceline for La Jolla 4* @ $80.

Then, 3.5* @ $100.

Next, 3* @ $105. 

Last, 2* @ $110.

Offered Express 3.5* @ $118. Accepted.

Room Subtotal: $118.00
Travel Insurance: $5.00
Taxes & Fees: $23.84
Total Charged to Card: $146.84

Aok with reservation. Will improve next time!

Valerie

Ok, so I'm really IRKED right now. While researching the directions to the Marriott, I saw that Priceline is offering this deal for the Sheraton in the same area with the same stars!!

Room Cost:

avg. per room, per night

$109.00

Rooms: 1

Nights: 1

Room Subtotal: $109.00

Taxes:

$13.76We've chopped fees on this hotel.

Total Charges:

$122.76

This deal was not made available to me while bidding or with the Express deal. Apparently, as a newb, I assumed incorrectly that Priceline would make available to me the best deals via bidding etc. and that a search would not be necessary. I called and explained this to customer service at Priceline and they are adamant that this is not their problem. This is utterly horrible customer service practice and doubt I will be using Priceline again if this doesn't get resolved. 

Any worthwhile advice is welcomed.

I am going to work on canceling this purchase through my bank.

Valerie

Just to clarify a few things...

To begin, your bidding strategy was not sound, as you lowered your star rating while increasing your bid price, which can often lead to an overbid, as discussed here: If You Lower Your Quality Level then Lower Your Bid Price.