Priceline Hotel: Help bidding in NYC - Oct 11-15

caviar
By caviar,
in

Hi there!

I'm new to bidding and found out about this site. Great resource for information!! I plan on using the links provided.

I was wondering whether it would be at all possible to find a 4* hotel for USD 200 or less on Oct 11-15. I would like to stay in the Times Square or Midtown East/Central/West areas. Any advice, such as on how much to start bidding?

Also, besides the room cost, on average how much more will I have to pay per night in taxes/fees to Price.line / Hot.wire?

Thanks!

Leo

Welcome to BetterBidding!

NYC hotel tax is about 15% and you should figure about $8/day for booking fees... but a more accurate picture would be to do a search at PRICELINE and/or HOTWIRE (or using our BiddingHelper.com to see both in one search). For HOTWIRE click thru an offer, then click BOOK IT and you'll see the total price all-in... for PRICELINE enter a bid amount and on the next page you'll see a summary of the total should your bid be accepted (you can do both of the above before entering any credit card information so no fear of accidentally booking by mistake ;) )

Searching HOTWIRE for your dates, all of the 4* hotels in Manhattan are slightly over your budget, so would you want to try bidding first? If so, please let us know which zones, by PRICELINE name, you're willing to accept and we'll take it from there (and please also confirm your maximum bid price of $200/nite... although if you could stretch another $20 or so per nite i think it would improve your chances)

Let us know how you'd like to proceed, or any additional questions you have, and we'll take it from there.

Thanks for using the PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links on the board.

Please use this HOTWIRE and these PRICELINE LINKS: HOTELS, CAR RENTALS, and AIRFARE to begin your travel purchases