Priceline Hotel: Bidding help

krmelce
By krmelce,
in

Hello, i am a complete beginner to priceline, therefore I would like to ask you for a bidding strategy. I am looking for an accommodation for my girlfriend and me in NYC starting from 8/31/14 to 9/6/14. My budget is approx. $130/night for which I would like to preferably stay in 4* or 3.5* hotel in Manhattan (regarding the budget, 3* hotel is still an option, you know, we are students). Regarding the exact location, I have no strict preferences (since I have been in NYC just once), so any advice is more than appreciated. I can imagine staying in these areas (in more or less descending order) - chelsea area, upper west side, upper east side, times square, central park south, soho, empire state building area, east village, midtown west, midtown east, madison square area, downtown... Thanks for your help. FH.

Welcome to Betterbidding. :)

Just to confirm, is your budget $130 "all-in" (including taxes/fees) or $130 + taxes/fees? "All-in" is going to be not possible for these date/s. $130 + taxes/fees may be possible in the Financial District area - Midtown is likely going to take more towards the $140-150 range for a 3*. 4* is likely going to take $175-200+, depending on the zone.

Thank you for using the board's HOTWIRE or PRICELINE links to start your purchases and searches.

Ok, i see that my budget is very limiting. My original thought was  $130/night including taxes. Let's increase it by $10 to $140. And I will ask differently. What is possible to get for this price at Manhattan (area/number of stars)? Let's also include areas like Brooklyn and Long Island City... Isnt it too risky too buy hotel in these areas without knowing the exact location (in terms of connection to Manhattan)?