Priceline Hotel: Help finding a 4* in River North Area

fivehorizons
By fivehorizons,
in

I'm new to both Price.line and Hot.wire, but I would really like to find a good deal for a family weekend vacation.  We would like to be in an area near all the downtown tourist attractions and also near public transportation.  I would like to be around $100/night, but it seems like this time period is quite expensive.  Can someone help me with where I should begin?  Priceline or Hotwire? Like I said, I'm a newb.

Thanks!

Welcome to Betterbidding. :)

An issue with Price.line is that it only guarantees 1 bed/double occupancy. If you are a party of more than 2, there is a chance the hotel may only be able to offer one bed.You can definitely ask at check-in and the hotel may have no problem or may charge an upgrade fee.  Hot.wire, where you can indicate the amount of people in the party and get some form of bedding for the amount of people indicated (2 beds, 1 + sofa or 1 + rollaway)  is a better choice.

In terms of Hot.wire, you are looking at likely around $150-155 in the Loop and $160+ in the area North of the River.  If you are willing to take the risk of having to negotiate bedding/room assignment with the hotel, Price.line will likely require $120-135 for a 4* in the River North area, although you can start a bit lower.

If you are driving, there are some very nice, family-friendly areas to the North of the city I often recommend. In that case, you'd probably be looking at around $45-65 (depending on Price.line or Hot.wire) for a 3.5/4*, but the issue becomes driving a short distance to a train and then taking the train in (about 40 min each way, but the Metra trains are much more comfortable than the CTA trains.)

Thank you for using the board's HOTWIRE or PRICELINE links to start your purchases and searches.