Priceline Hotel: 5* Park 79

RobinW.
By RobinW.,
in

I've booked the Park 79, single/shared bath, for $129 plus tax for a theater trip on Oct. 19-21. A friend suggested that I try Priceline just to see if I could get a room with a private bath for basically the same price. (I've never used Priceline before.) My original plan was to try for a 2.5 level hotel in these zones: MTW, Times Square, and UWS. From my reading here, the 2.5's would be either The Belvedere, Best Western President, or the Excelsior. When I asked a hotel guru at Tripadvisor about this strategy, she said NOT to bid below a 4 because of potential bedbug problems. I'm realistic enough to know that there's no way I can win a 4 with my budget for those expensive October dates. Should I just stick with my Park 79 reservation and save Priceline for another trip?

Welcome to Betterbidding. :)

Bidding at 2.5* (and especially below) is not recommended (quality problems and other issues). There are a few decent properties at these levels, but certainly some that are not and there is no way to choose when using PRICELINE. $129 for a 2.5* is probably going to be unlikely for these dates (if possible, it would likely be close to the max), but it wouldn't hurt to try: are you only looking for UWS/TS/MTW? Additionally, there could definitely be other hotels possible besides those "known"/reported to the board.

Please use the site's HOTWIRE or PRICELINE links to start your purchases and searches.

Thanks for your reply, Aaron.

Using the Priceline Hotels List, I chose 2.5 at UWS, Times Square, and MTW because I could identify the hotels, and based on reviews and past stays, I would be fine staying at any of them for a theater trip. I also thought those would be the most likely to fit my budget. The person at Tripadvisor did advise bidding for no lower than a 4*, but there's no way I could win at that level for my October dates.

I'm open for any guidance... :-)