Priceline Hotel: 4* Los Angeles Downtown Hotel

westonian
By westonian,
in

Hello everyone. I am completely new to the world of Priceline, yet I have been doing my research and like the results I see. I am visiting LA for the first time, for vacation, 8/10-8/18, and figured I should look into bidding in the Redondo-Manhattan Beach area, or, Santa Monica-Marina del Rey area. I am looking for at least a 3-star. My preferred budget is anywhere from $45-70/night, with a preference toward the lower end, as I realize some hotels have outrageous parking fees in this area. If anyone has any tips/suggestions for bidding for a decent hotel in my price range, from 8/10-8/18, I would greatly appreciate it. Also, when it comes to vacation, does anyone prefer any particular beach over the other? I realize the Manhattan beach area would be less expensive. Thanks!

Welcome to BetterBidding, westonian.

Santa Monica-MDR zone is usually more expensive than Manhattan-Redondo, and I doubt $70 will be enough for a 3* in SM-MDR, especially for an eight night stay in August. Any interest in splitting this--- like 4 nights in Manhattan/Redondo and 4 nights in SM/MDR? Or do you want eight nights at one hotel?

Also, if you could have a 3.5* for $70 or a 3* for $50 which would you prefer?

Please use these PRICELINE and HOTWIRE links for your purchases.

Thanks for the reply! You know, I hadn't really thought about splitting up my stay between two hotels (I figured it'd be easier and more convenient to stay in one place), but now that you mention it, that might not be a bad idea. Is it easier to get bids approved for shorter lengths of stay?

As far as which I would choose -- my first instinct is to go for the 3* at $50. If I were to split up my stays between two hotels, I would say both.